Degenkolb Before Demare Sagan

The German John Degenkolb won the 76th edition of Gent-Wevelgem sprint before the French Arnaud Demare and holding the title Slovak Peter Sagan. An eventful race and marked by numerous falls. Especially in the final.

Peter Sagan, Tom Boonen, Mark Cavendish. Except Marcel Kittel, the greatest sprinters were present for the 2014 edition of Gent-Wevelgem (233 km).

degenkolb before demare sagan

Degenkolb Before Demare Sagan

The French and Germans Demare Arnaud Andre Greipel and John Degenkolb were there too. It is precisely the latter that set the sprint before Demare and defending champion Sagan. And after a race to the less tense, marked by several falls. Including those of Greipel and Tyler Farrar 8 kilometers from the finish. Fell into a ditch, Ian Stannard has meanwhile been taken to hospital. The final sprint was as lively as the rest of the day. Triple winner of the event, the Belgian Boonen took fifth place, behind his compatriot September Vanmarcke. Tom Van Asbroeck, Alexey Tsatevich, Yauheni Hutarovich, Thor Hushovd and J├╝rgen Roelandts complete the Top 10 of the 76th Ghent-Wevelgem.

If the sprinters have everyone agree on this Via Vanackere, South African Jaco Venter, Italian Manuele Boaro, Danish Sebastian Lander, the Swiss Marcel Aregger and Belgian Frederik Veuchelen have indeed been more than 10 minutes ahead of the peloton early in the race. An advance that melted near the big climb of the day, Mount Kemmel. Boaro was the bravest of them, but it was finally taken some thirty kilometers from the finish after a solo raid. Swiss Silvan Dillier, Stijn Devolder Belgian and Costa Rican Andrey Amador, the riders, trying to slip away 20 kilometers from the line. Their advantage sailed around 30 seconds. Not enough, they were swallowed under the red flag, paving the way for the success of the fifth year and 30th career John Degenkolb, who had burst at the foot of Poggio in Milan-San Remo last week. The French Arnaud Demare can meanwhile be proud to have her best result in a classic North.

Ranking 76th Gent-Wevelgem:

1. John Degenkolb (Giant-Shimano) in 5h34’43 (average: 41.8 km / h)
2. Demare Arnaud (
3. Peter Sagan (Cannondale)
4. September Vanmarcke (Belkin)
5. Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-Quick Step)
6. Tom Van Asbroeck (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
7. Alexey Tsatevich (Katusha)
8. Yauheni Hutarovich (AG2R-La Mondiale)
9. Thor Hushovd (BMC)
10. Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto-Belisol)

Peraud Won The Criterium International

In other appointments cycling of the day, the French Jean-Christophe Peraud (AG2R La Mondiale) won the Criterium International after the third and final stage, won by Swiss Matthias Frank (IAM), Col de l’Ospedale . Peraud took the second step in the wake of Frank at the top of the hill overlooking the Gulf of Porto-Vecchio. The French, who is 36 years old, succeeded Race winners the winner of the Tour de France, Briton Chris Froome. The Spaniard Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) has meanwhile won the Tour of Catalonia defending through his white jersey on Sunday, the 7th and final step back Dutchman Lieuwe Westra. Rodriguez rejected a last attack Alberto Contador (Saxo-Tinkoff) to keep its four seconds ahead overall. The American Tejay van Garderen (BMC) won the third place in 7 seconds behind the winner. Westra, meanwhile, won the 7th stage of 120.7 km around Barcelona with 1 ’22 sec ahead of the German Marcus Burghardt (BMC) and the French Thomas Voeckler (Europcar). (AFP)