CAF Awards: Yaya Toure Named Golden Ball For The Third Consecutive Time

Yaya Toure won for the third time in a row, the African Golden Ball at the awards ceremony of the CAF Awards, yesterday Thursday, January 9, 2014 in Lagos (Nigeria).

The Ivorian international and Manchester City match the performance of Abedi Pele and Samuel Eto’o son. Posthumously, the FCA Bruno Metsu high rank of legend.


And three! The Ivorian international Yaya Toure Gnegneri was named for the third time straight year, the best African footballer in front of the Nigerian John Obi Mickel and his compatriot Didier Drogba.

The Ivorian midfielder of Manchester City (England) and match the performance of Ghanaian Ayew Pele Adebi and Samuel Eto’o, only players to win three consecutive Ballon d’Or.

The former captain of the Black Stars of Ghana had started the ball rolling by winning the trophy in 1991, 1992 and 1993. It will be copied ten years later by the current captain of the “Lions” Cameroon’s Indomitable (2003, 2004 and 2005).

Exhibit mastery of Citizens in the device, the younger brother of Kolo Toure and won his second title this year.

As a reminder, in December last year, he was named African Footballer of the Year 2013 at the end of a consultation by the BBC.

The Ivory Coast international, 30, had succeeded Christopher Katongo of Zambia, elected in 2012. It was preferred to Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Victor Moses, John Obi Mikel and Jonathan Pitroipa.

The former midfielder of Monaco (2006-2007) and FC Barcelona (2007-2010) was one of five nominees for the fifth consecutive year, but was never elected. “This is something fantastic, because I think that there has never been more African international players now with players like Aubameyang, Pitroipa, Mikel, Moses, Solomon Kalou, Gervinho. I also think that African football is improving, which is very important to us. As an African, I am very happy, “he declared.

The African Golden Ball, do you remember, is a trophy awarded to the best African player of the year (year beginning in January and ending in December). He is appointed by the Confederation of African Football (CAF Awards) via the vote of coaches and captains of the 53 African teams.

Metsu Legend

Moreover, it should be noted trophy club of the year returned to Al Ahly (Egypt) which was in competition with Sfaxien (Tunisia) and Orlando Pirates (South Africa).

Stephen Keshi, winner of the 2013 CAN with Nigeria, has won the trophy for best coach of the year, ahead of his countryman Manu Garba (U 17 coach of Nigeria) and Paul Put (Burkina Faso).

Goldens Eaglets of Nigeria are designated best young team this year, with the key Kelechi Iheanacho who won the title of best hope to Ebenezer and Saleh Gomaa Assifuah.

Haimoudi Djamel (Algeria) was named best African referee of the year before and the Gambian Alioum None Bakary Papa Gassama.

Finally, the legends, the FCA presented awards posthumously to Bruno Metsu (Senegal) and Mehdi Faria (Morocco).